In the Science department we aim to get students to explore the world around them, by questioning and then investigating a range of phenomena.

We teach all three disciplines of science; Biology, Chemistry and Physics in all 4 year groups. Our programmes of study are arranged into small units throughout the year with scientific enquiry and investigative work in every unit.


A break down of the units in Key Stage 2:

Year 5

  • Forces at work
  • Materials
  • Life Cycles
  • Earth in Space
  • Changing State
  • Micro-organisms

Year 6

  • Dissolving
  • The Human body
  • Electricity
  • Reversible and irreversible changes
  • Classification
  • Light
  • Adaptation and Evolution

A break down of the units in Key Stage 3:

Year 7

  • Cells and systems
  • The Particle Theory
  • Energy
  • Variation and Ecology
  • Acids and Alkalis
  • Forces
  • Reproduction
  • Pure and impure substances

Year 8

  • Food and Digestion
  • Atoms and elements
  • Electricity and Magnetism
  • Respiration
  • The Earth and atmosphere
  • Waves
  • Photosynthesis
  • Chemical Reactions